Clean Eating for Busy Families

downloadI am totally enjoying Cleaning Eating for Busy Families! The recipes have been quick, simple, relatively healthy, and don’t use a bunch of processes ingredients…oh and delicious! You know that I’ve said how much I love The Sprouted Kitchen, but somethings I can’t afford the money and/or the time to make a lot of those recipes, and this book has been the answer to that for me!

What have I tried so far?

Red Potato Salad with Scallions & Greek Yogurt – I made this one night for our small group. Of course I went to add the mayonaiise and realized that ours had expired…a while ago…turns out we don’t eat it a lot. I was hesitant to serve mayo that had expired months ago to others, but I didn’t have enough Greek yogurt to just use that. I ended up whipping a mixture of half and half and heavy whipping cream to try to make it work. It was a little runny but it worked out! It was a very fresh tasting potato salad and I really enjoyed it!

Cajun-Crusted Tilapia Tacos with Pico de Gallo – These were excellent! I made the pico ahead of time and added corn and mangoes since I had them on hand and I put the avocado right into the pico instead of on the side. I love a good fish taco!

Hearty Pinto & Kidney Bean Tamale PieJeremy wasn’t a huge fan of this one but I thought it was pretty good. I loved that I could use my cast-iron skillet and make it a one-dish meal. Unfortunately in the past I have made an amazing cornbread recipe that uses A LOT of butter so the cornbread on top just wasn’t the same, however I almost didn’t care since instead this recipe used whole grain corn meal, whole wheat flour and a mere 3 T of oil, it seemed like a much healthier option!

Quinoa Pilaf with MirepoixThis is the only recipe that I wasn’t a huge fan of. It wasn’t bad, I just didn’t love it, although it is a simple way to dress up quinoa. We had it with fried shrimp, so honestly, it had a lot to compete with…

Four Seasons Fruit Pizza – This was a HUGE hit in our house. Kind of like a healthier, thicker, cakier, (and easier to make) sugar cookie that is topped with a coconut whipped cream and decorated with fruit! This is our new go-to for ‘cookie’ decorating. I let them put sprinkles on them too, because they love sprinkles. Jeremy thought these were amazing and has been hounding me to make more!

Dark Chocolate Whole-Wheat Brownies – I had planned on making these for just our family, however I was making a dessert for a wedding shower recently and realized I wasn’t going to have enough so I whipped these up too and cut them into hearts with a cookie cutter. I wasn’t a huge fan at first, but I got a lot of complements on them. I think I will try them again and make them in a smaller pan. They were not very thick and mine were a little over-cooked even though I cooked them less time than suggested. I also sprinkled chocolate chips and flaky sea salt over the top…

Later this week I’m looking forward to trying Skinny Chicken Parmesan with Spinach and Quick Polenta Griddle Cakes with Wild Mushroom & Cherry Tomato Saute!

One thought on “Clean Eating for Busy Families

Leave a Reply

