Recent Reads: I Am Malala (and Super Natural Every Day)

supernaturalcookingSuper Natural Every Day: Well-Loved Recipes from My Natural Foods Kitchen 
by Heidi Swanson I am not going to say too much about this book because I post so many recipes from it that I think that it speaks for itself. I enjoyed reading it very much. And I really did read it…every page, every recipe! I love her voice in describing the recipes and the simplicity of putting each one together. This is not only a whole foods cookbook, but also vegetarian (which I didn’t even notice at first!). The recipes have been simple, healthy, and yummy. I look forward to sharing more of my Super Natural adventures with you!

17851885I Am Malala: The Girl Who Stood Up for Education and Was Shot by the Taliban 
by Malala YousafzaiChristina Lamb I wasn’t able to go to bookclub this month because we were out of town, but I wanted to get the book read anyway. I was very sorry to miss all the yummy food, but even more disappointed not to be able to join in the discussion about this book. This was a very interesting and eye-opening book about a young girl growing up in Pakistan around the time of 9/11. She and her father fought bravely for girls’ education. Most of the book is about that fight, but her increased fame happened after she was shot by the Taliban. She is young and very focused. It was an excellent read and I highly recommend it!

 

One thought on “Recent Reads: I Am Malala (and Super Natural Every Day)

  1. 101cookbooks was the first blog I followed. 🙂 We missed you at bookclub but hopefully we can chat about it together soon.

Leave a Reply

