Recent Reads: Longitude by Dava Sobel

4806

I have been in a bit of a reading funk for a while now. I can’t quite seem to kick it. It’s not that I haven’t read good books. I just haven’t been in the mood to read. I think I’m just too tired! Once the girls finally go to bed all I can really handle is watching a show on Hulu and going to bed early. For real! 5:30 am (when my girls have been waking up) doesn’t seem quite so early when I go to bed at 9…

Anyway, I set a goal to read 30 books this year. I’ve read 2…so I’m a little behind. I finished reading Kisses from Katie in January. It was a really good and challenging read. Our bookclub book for December/January was The Goldfinch. I tried…well, I kind of tried. I know it’s kind of a big deal right now. However, it was long. It was sad. It was depressing. It sounded like it wasn’t going to get much better. I read the first section and then gave up.

February’s book went much better for me. Longitude by Dava Sobel was great!This was a subject that I had practically zero interest in, however the book was relatively short, 175 pages, and the description was mildly intriguing. This book was much more history than science, which I enjoyed immensely. It is clearly written for the public so it is both clear and easy to read. She gives just enough detail about what was going on at the time to give context without drowning the reader in too many facts. I had no idea the discovery of longitude was such a big deal! It gave me an interesting look at politics at the time, how gross scurvy really was, and the art that is clock making. I gave it 4 stars. I know I can be a bit of a history nerd at times, so I think it will be interesting to hear what the other women in our bookclub thought of it! I, however, totally recommend it!

Leave a Reply

