And My Obsession with The Sprouted Kitchen Continues…

photo(9)Sprouted Kitchen’s Roasted Cauliflower Capellini. I love cauliflower and I’m pretty sure everything is better when it’s roasted! So I really enjoyed this recipe, but Jeremy didn’t really like it. I think the word he used was ‘funky’. I think it was the nutmeg that threw him off. He wasn’t a big fan of that taste with the cauliflower and pasta. The changes I made included using regular balsamic vinegar instead of white, I didn’t use hazelnuts because I couldn’t find any at my grocery store but I put some toasted pine nuts on top instead, and we used Parmesan instead of Pecorino. I liked it, but like I said, it wasn’t a huge hit in our house so I’ll give it 3 stars.

photo(12)Sprouted Kitchen’s Moroccan Stuffed Squash. So I was nervous about this one a little bit, but I love acorn squash so I knew I wanted to try it! My changes – no cumin because of Jeremy and I used goat cheese instead of feta because that’s what I had on hand. So Jeremy arrived home as this was cooking and I knew he wasn’t too sure about it. Then he told me that he thinks he is allergic to coconut…so I quickly put some water on the stove and made him a separate serving of quinoa sans coconut milk. He also didn’t eat the squash which was covered in coconut oil. Luckily my brother was visiting for dinner so I got to share the full meal with him (oh Capri ate too…except she put one bite in her mouth and spit it out and then preceded to eat yogurt and granola).

photo(11)Sprouted Kitchen’s Mushroom and Brown Rice Veggie BurgersJeremy has been a little hesitant entering our kitchen as of late, which seems unnecessary to me with more successes than failures but still he wasn’t sure about these either. Initially I was going to make them over the weekend and he informed me that they were not ‘weekend’ food. So I made them on Monday and he said, “make some fries or something so we dont’ have to eat ‘just that.’ He took his first bite and made a weird face and then he said, ‘not bad’ and by the end of the meal he was saying, ‘I have to stop eating this, I’m too full!’ So it all worked out in the end! Capri declared them ‘delicious’ but then didn’t eat very much so I’m not too sure if she liked them or if she was just copying daddy. I left out the garlic and I think that would have really changed the taste. Next time I’ll use less fennel. Maybe with the garlic it wouldn’t seem so strong but it was a little more than I wanted it to be. I’ve made veggie burgers before and these were both easier and tastier. They can be made ahead and then baked for 15 minutes so it could be a great meal for guests. The toppings were great – hummus, avocado, and caramelized shallots! Oh and we used spinach instead of arugula. 5 stars!

Leave a Reply

