Feeding Babies

photo (11)Colette is 9 1/2 months old. I love this age. They are fun. Their little personalities are coming out. They are crawling and pulling up but not walking (at least mine aren’t). Except for occasional teething fussiness it’s a fun age. Unfortunately it’s also the age when you are elbow deep in baby food. I do not love the phase between exclusively breast feeding and being able to feed themselves…It’s a lot of time you take feeding them and then it’s either a lot of work or a lot of money to get the food!

With Capri I was hard core. I made all of her baby food. I don’t think she even tried any commercial baby food until we went on a trip around 10 months of life. I lived the Super Baby Food book. And it totally stressed me out. I had lists to make sure she didn’t eat anything I hadn’t gone through the process of introducing. I had to plan out her food a month in advance, making sure she was getting the right variety of foods so she got all of the essential nutrients. It was a little crazy and I really didn’t enjoy it. In fact I’m sure it made me cry on more than one occasion.

With Collete feeding her solids totally snuck up on me. I was more than a little behind the game on that one. And I just bought the baby food (except for bananas and avocados because those aren’t too difficult to mush up). But she is now eating significantly more and the grocery bill is getting more and more expensive and I decided I needed to stop being lazy and take a day to make some baby food. A friend had lent me the Cooking for Baby book with Capri but I didn’t really use it. I pulled it out this week and that’s what I’m using this time. It’s simpler and I think it adds a little something by adding herbs and such to your babies diet earlier. I still will probably wait on meat until a year old but I think otherwise I will go with the book.

I went to the grocery store on Monday and came home and spent the day making several batches of baby food. I made –

Sweet Peas with Mint
Butternut Squash Puree
Pears with Spinach and Pumpkin Pie Spice
Apples with Kale and Cinnamon
Green Beans with Mint
Millet and Zucchini Medley

I felt super accomplished! Yay for taking just one day and getting a good start to making my own baby food again…Colette, I’m sorry I’m not as hard core about your food as I was with your sister. I still love you. And I’m probably a better mom to you when I’m not super stressed about making your food and making sure you get a ridiculous variety of foods!

Leave a Reply

