Recent Reads

I have been tired lately. I normally am a night reader and lately it gets to be night time and I finally have time to read and I can’t keep my eyes open long enough to even finish a page…so reading has been a little slow for me lately. It was a week before bookclub and I realized I absolutely had to start my book so that I could get it read on time. So that week I took nap times and even a couple of mornings before the girls’ woke up to get that book read! So here’s what I have finished and what I’m working on!

Recent Reads:

eyreaffairThe Eyre Affair by Jasper Fforde. This was April’s bookclub pick. I wanted to like this book so much. It seems like the kind of book I would love. Female lead who is a detective. It’s a very literary kind of book and there is also quite a bit of sci-fi thrown in which I apparently like (hello, Ender’s Game obsession!). I just couldn’t get there with this book. I never connected with the lead character. I felt like it was super obvious that she was written by a man. Also the book is written in an alternate reality. Sometimes I love this, but in this book I felt like I was always trying to catch up. When I read Harry Potter I feel like I have been welcomed into another world and become a part of it. In the Eyre Affair I felt like I was an outsider and there were constantly new things popping up. It’s like there was too much stuff and it overwhelmed me. Finally, if I hadn’t read Jane Eyre (multiple times) I would have been totally lost. And there are a ton of literary and pop culture references. I feel like I’m pretty well-read as far as Shakespeare and the classics (thanks to a thorough high school education), but I know I missed a lot. Anyway, it wasn’t a bad book but it didn’t compel me to want to read the next book in the series.

Currently Working On:

13331145The Sprouted Kitchen by Sara Forte. Clearly I have an obsession with this book. So much so that I have been reading it cover to cover! It’s so inspiring and the text is lovely and the pictures are beautiful. Yes, I have become a person that reads cookbooks…there are worse things!

readaloudThe Read-Aloud Handbook by Jim Trelease. My mom gave me this book at one of my baby showers and I have begun reading it. I’m not sure what my opinion of it really is yet. I don’t think I love his attitude or writing style, however I agree with pretty much everything he says. It has helped keep reading to my kids at the forefront of my mind and made me be extra proactive about it. Reading to our kids is so important and I really do want them to love reading!

breadandwine Bread and Wine by Shauna Niequist. I have been a big fan of Shauna’s for a long time. This is her third book and is another winner. I’ll admit her first book is still my favorite but I do love that this one has a recipe at the end of almost every chapter! As with her other two books, I only allow myself to read one chapter a day so that I can savor it 😉

1494702Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier. I haven’t technically started this one but it is sitting on my nightstand ready to read. This is May’s bookclub pick and after reading the description again I am excited to start it!

Leave a Reply

