Recent Reads

Apparently I haven’t written about any books that I’ve read since before the start of the year so I’ll just quickly let you know what I’ve read so far in 2013!

captivatingCaptivating by John and Stasi Eldredge. 4 Stars. I wish I had read this book 10 years ago when it was first popular. I think it would have helped me deal with some of the issues I was struggling with concerning God and women. I didn’t love all of it, but there were some core truths in there that really spoke to me.

65364Sheet Music by Kevin Leman. 4 Stars. This was technically a re-read. I read this before I got married…7 years ago. For real, my thought while reading this back in 2006 was, “what’s wrong with these people? Why don’t they want to have sex every.single.day?” Haha….fast forward 7 years and 2 kids later and even though I feel good about where Jeremy and I are in this area of our marriage, it was definitely a good time to read this book. I highly recommend it!

726711No Perfect People Allowed by John Burke. 5 Stars. I was surprised at how much I liked this book. I don’t know why I had low expectations for it, but I totally recommend this book. It is a good perspective check for Christians.

579727 Xenocide by Orson Scott Card. 3 Stars. Oh, Orson, I haven’t given up on you even though the last couple of books I’ve read have not captured me the way the first ones did. Still…I think I may finish off the series. It’s hard to escape the Endoverse (yes, I’ve been come a borderline dork with these!)

sleepsense

Sleep Sense by Megan Faure and Ann Richardson. 4 Stars. I read the whole thing in one night while trying to tune out the fact that my precious baby girl was struggling to fall asleep. I read this book in desperation at the thoughtful suggestion of one of the moms in my Hello Mornings group. It was exactly what I needed to read. I needed a reset. I needed to be told I was doing a lot right. I needed help formulating a new plan. I needed to be told that what I wanted to do was ok and that I could do it. I am so glad I read it and if there is every another infant in my house, I’ll probably read it again!

kidskitchen

Kids in the Kitchen: Simple Recipes That Build Independence and Confidence the Montessori Way by Sara E. Cotner and Kylie D’Alton. 5 stars. I highly recommend this to anyone with young children. It’s so great! We already do a lot in the kitchen but this helped give me new ideas and I’m looking forward to the day when we start doing recipes from this book together (probably soon!)

halftheskyHalf the Sky by Nicholas D. Kristof and Sheryl WuDunn. 5 Stars. This book will mess you up – you have to read it! I read this for our bookclub and I’m so glad that I did. If you can’t read it, you should at least watch the documentary. There are so many atrocities happening to women around the world – we need to help! I was left with a deep desire to do something after reading this! And I made a plan and began to execute it! I look forward to sharing with you how I hope to do my part to change the world for women!

3 thoughts on “Recent Reads

  1. I picked up Half the Sky at Half Price and I’m really looking forward to reading it even though I know it will be eye opening and difficult to read. I’m excited for your new adventure and that you are finding a way to do something about changing the lives of women!

  2. Pingback: Changing the Wold, One Bag at a Time! | elliek

Leave a Reply

