Gentleness with our Littles

bed9It’s late. It’s been a long day. It’s been a long couple of weeks. After Christmas the girls and I got sick. That knocked us out for a little over a week and then it has taken even more time to reset and return to routine. Colette stopped taking her pacifier while she was sick and now my wonderful sleeper is learning how to fall asleep on her own again. Also the sickness got her in the habit of waking up every couple hours so she isn’t sleeping through the night anymore. Capri has also struggled to return to normal and she hasn’t been sleeping well either. Whether it’s not going to sleep or waking up in the middle of the night. So it’s been a struggle. I’m tired. Every night my prayer is, “please, Lord, let them fall asleep quickly and stay asleep all night…but if that isn’t your will for me, give me strength, patience, grace.” I’ll admit to some moments of frustration. Maybe some unsavory words have slipped out in the wee hours of the night when I’ve gotten out of bed. again. But overall I’ve really felt God’s presence with me. I certainly have received a measure of strength and even joy that is not from myself. God is good. This parent thing is hard, but God is good.

I read this short post by Sarah Bessey. I read it at 10 pm after having put both girls to bed 3 different times. God knew I needed it. I want to show that gentleness to my girls. I want to show them Jesus –  even at 3 in the morning.

Leave a Reply

