A New Direction in 2013

This blog started with my need for a creative outlet. Somewhere to be creative and somewhere to share creativity. My blogging has come and gone in waves. The kinds of posts have changed many times. For a while I even stopped blogging all together for several months. It’s always annoyed me that I haven’t had a lot of direction here. I feel like I want more focus.

I’ve had a lot of changes this last year, but there has been a major shift for me in one big way. There is more than one thing that has contributed to this. Not working outside our home is certainly one of them – my stress level has gone WAY down. Colette has been a joy of a baby. Maybe I’m more confident maybe I’ve just grown more patience, maybe she really is just an amazing little peanut! but being Colette’s mom has shown me a different side of parenting. Capri is older now. She is so fun! Parenting with her has moved from the pure physicality of parenting an infant to the fun and craziness of parenting a toddler. Sometimes she kills me and I have to take many deep breaths, but really it’s opened up a new wonderful world of parenting to me.

That said, I think I would like to move this blog in a direction more focused on parenting. If you are sighing and this is making you annoyed in some way, that’s ok. I even think I understand where you are coming from. For me it doesn’t mean that being a mom is all that I am, but right now, in this stage of my life, it’s a big part of who I am. That used to be scary, but let me tell you, I’m loving it. I finally feel like I’m doing what I was meant to do! So yes, ‘mommyhood’ is going to take over this blog and if that is bothersome to you, it won’t offend me if you delete me from your reader. I get it. Not everyone is in this place, but I am and it’s where I want to be.

I will still share recipes and things that I’m reading and really whatever else I want to – after all, it’s my blog. The posts will more often focus on kids. Stuff I’m going through, asking your advice. Stuff we’re doing and how it’s going. Sharing and encouraging. Being a mom is awesome. It’s also freaking hard! I like to read blogs that share the struggles but also offer a lot of encouragement for the road and I want to be like that!

I’m looking forward to this new year. I know it’s going to bring lots of growth and humility, but I also believe it will bring lots of joy!

One thought on “A New Direction in 2013

Leave a Reply

