Reading – The Hobbit and Ender in Exile

Recently Read:

The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien. This is November’s book club pick. I started to read it almost immediately after finishing Ender’s Game. I was in a reading mood and with no sequel to Ender’s Game at my fingertips (although I was tempted to just download it to me Kindle!), I decided to get a head start on the book club book. Turns out it was a much faster read than I remember it being! I thoroughly enjoyed reading this again (I read it in junior high or high school I can’t really remember). I am super excited for the movie to come out this Christmas! 4 out of 5 stars.

Ender in Exileby Orson Scott Card. Turns out I did get the sequel to Ender’s Game soon after finishing it. It became available at my library but like a good little reader I finished The Hobbit before starting it. I read it quickly just like the first. Although Speaker for the Dead is the published order sequel, Card wrote this one after the first five books but it is the direct sequel to Ender’s Game and takes place right after the war has been won and covers Ender’s early teen years. Again I very much enjoyed entering into this world and am looking forward to reading the rest of them! 4 out of 5 stars.

Up Next:

Speaker for the Dead by Orson Scott Card. I just can’t help myself! I picked this one up a the library at the same time I picked up Ender in Exile. I’m looking forward to diving into this award-winning book. Since I finished November’s book club book already and we don’t read a book in December, I’m all done for the year! January will bring Rules of Civility, but I think I’ll wait until January to read it! I made a goal to read 24 books this year and I’m at 20 now so I have two months left to ready the last 4 (surprisingly I’m on track!). I’m in a Bible study that ends in December that is reading Ruth by Jackie Roese so that will take care of one of them, but I hesitate to actually count that since it’s not really a lot of reading. I’ve also been reading Captivating by John and Staci Eldredge and I think I’ll be finished with that before the end of the year too. That only leaves one book left and with the rate I’m going through these Ender books I doubt that will be a problem!

Leave a Reply

