Toddler Knife Skills and Creamy Mushroom and Chicken Soup

Last week when meal planning I turned to pinterst and clicked on a link entitled 25 soups perfect for fall. I made the first one on the list, Creamy Mushroom and Chicken Soup and enlisted a bit of help from my fabulous sous chef! This recipe is super easy and fast to make. If there is anything that is slightly time consuming it’s the chopping of the ingredients (beware: if you ask a 20 month old to help you it might take longer and there might be a bigger mess, you’ve been warned!).

I gave Capri a butter knife, a cutting board, and some mushrooms and Jeremy showed her how to cut the mushrooms. Of course in this picture seems to be sampling the mushrooms 😉 It is both super fulfilling to have my daughter in the kitchen and super frustrating and inconvenient! I think when I invite her to help me I just have to adjust my expectations. It is a great way to have her come alongside me to do an activity that is both fun and productive (even if it takes longer than it would have if I had done it by myself).

The only change I made to this recipe is that I used whole milk instead of cream. We give this recipe 5 out of 5 stars! It was very yummy! In fact that day we ate it for lunch and for dinner! We highly recommend it and and it just so happened that it felt slightly like fall that day (of course, today the high is 90 again 😦

One thought on “Toddler Knife Skills and Creamy Mushroom and Chicken Soup

  1. What a great moment to capture together! And I gotta try that soup recipe. I’m not one to make a lot of soup, but my goal this fall/winter is to try some new ones. So I think this one is going on the to-cook list.

Leave a Reply

