Summer Squash, Bacon, and Mozzarella Quiche

You may have wondered if I even cook anymore (well, let’s be honest, that’s a little self-centered your life is probably way too busy to be wondering about my cooking habits!). Well, our wonderful friends brought us meals for 6 weeks! after we had Capri. It was awesome not only because it’s hard to handle things like dinner when you have a newborn and a toddler but it was also great because Jeremy has been out of work and it saved us a lot of money. It really was a huge blessing. Then we were in the process of moving and with money being tight we were eating really simply. And Jeremy has been shopping and cooking for us a lot. Finally we are moved. We still have a lot of unpacking and organizing to to do but I am beginning to feel a little more settled. Last night I was relaxing in my new (and wonderful!) bathtub trying to catch up on my magazine reading (I’m like a year behind it’s ridiculous) and I ran across this recipe for Summer Squash, Bacon, and Mozzarella Quiche in Cooking Light and really wanted to try it. I figured it still feels like summer in Texas so it would probably be alright.

I give this recipe 5 out of 5 stars! So yummy! I love quiche but I never make it because Jeremy has been telling me for years that he doesn’t like it. However for my mom’s birthday this last year we threw her a brunch and there was quiche and he had it and liked it so I thought I’d give it a shot. He also doesn’t really like zucchini but I took a chance on that too. It was a success – he went back for seconds! I used Colby Jack instead of Mozzarella and I used dried thyme instead of fresh for money saving purposes.

The crust was super easy to make (and it helps to have a food processor), however it would be easier to make the crust beforehand (maybe make a couple batches and freeze them so it’s easy to throw a quiche together with whatever veggies you have available). I guess that was the downside to this recipe. It was a little time consuming. If I had to make this after work then I wouldn’t have had time so probably not a great weeknight meal for most people. I thought it was worth the effort though.

I hadn’t cooked an actual recipe in such a long time. It was therapeutic being in kitchen again. Thinly slicing veggies (this recipe would take less time if you have a mandolin), shredding cheese, smelling the sizzling bacon. The experience was enjoyable and the end result was excellent! I love it when a recipe goes off without a hitch! And we are looking forward to heating up the leftovers for breakfast tomorrow morning!

Leave a Reply

