Mommy Mondays – Newborn Diapers

I started cloth diapering capri at 2 months. Having a newborn for the first time was about all I could handle and everyone said that often newborn diapers aren’t worth it because they grow out of them so fast. However, this time around, I was already washing Capri’s diapers so adding Colette’s diapers to it didn’t seem like a big deal. I also knew she was going to be small so I thought I would go for it. It has been a great experience for us. She was small so we are just now growing out of our newborn diapers at 2 months  and it hasn’t added any extra work for us really because we were already washing diapers. Here is a list of the ones that we used and our thoughts on them:

gDiapers tiny gpants – 2 out of 5 stars.

I don’t think I would recommend these. I got the 6-pack (so glad I didn’t get the 12 pack!). They are cute but I didn’t like them. First of all, I had planned on using the small cloth inserts in them but found out later they were really designed for their disposable inserts, which are not super cost effective. Anytime I used the cloth inserts the outside of the diaper would get damp after she peed. The fit was also not very good for Colette. She was small but the rise was still too high to stay away from her bellybutton even when it was snapped down. Her umbilical chord fell off pretty early – 9 days – and after that we struggled with the fit of the diaper because it always seemed that the rise was not long enough. It always pulled around her thighs and she was small! They say they fit 6-10 lbs but I don’t know how that’s possible. I think we had to stop using them around 7.5 lbs and she’s not very long either…Sad. (sidenote – I actually pulled out my size small gdiapers and started using those – they actually fit her pretty well after the 2nd week, but I still don’t think gdiapers are the best option – they are cute and not bulky at all but I have struggled with leaks or with dampness).

GroVia newborn All In One – 4 out of 5 stars!

These are super cute! I got 2 of these as a gift. They were really great. They are so cute, no leaks, and not bulky at all. They have a little dip in the front to keep from rubbing the bellybutton but they were too big for her for that. Again, even though she was small she grew out of these pretty quickly. they say they fit 5-12 lbs, but again she has already grown out of them and I doubt she is 8 lbs yet. I think the other downside to these is that they are about $15/each – probably not a worthwhile investment for just a few weeks, but maybe a great deal if you can find them used! (a great idea for any newborn diaper since they are used for such a short time and therefore very little wear)

Bummis Newborn Pack – 5 out of 5 stars!

I think this is what I would suggest if you were going to cloth diaper a newborn. These fit the best, lasted the longest and never leaked. I think it would be cheaper to put together your own ‘pack’ by buying your own prefolds and covers, but it was nice to get them all together. This pack comes with 12 preemie sized prefolds and 2 Bummis Super Brite newborn covers. These covers are great! I love the leg gussets and for being a prefold with a cover these were not very bulky. I used these with a snappi. To sum up – I think these are great! In fact I just bought a dozen prefolds in the next size up and ordered another Bummis Super Brite cover in a small!

Bummis Super Whisper Wrap – 4 out of 5 stars!

I used these with the prefolds mentinoed above. I got thisne because for real, how cute? I think this was a great cover but when it comes down to it, I’d go with the Super Brite as opposed to the Super Whisper because of the leg gussets that the Super Brite has and the Super Whisper does not.

Rumarooz Newborn Cover – 5 out of 5 stars

I bought this cover after Colette was born in an attempt to find a preemie sized cover. It said preemie in the description but turns out it wasn’t. However, I was not disapointed in this diaper. It fits really well and has great leg gussets. It fits a much larger range of sizes. It says 4-12 lbs and we are still using it now with the larger size of prefolds. I have been super happy with it.

Thirsties Duo Wrap Size 1 – 5 out of 5 stars

Another great cover! I really like this Thirsties Duo Wrap. Definitely a bit larger than the Bummis newborn wraps, but it’s great because we’ll use this much longer. It has great leg gussets as well and my favorite – this comes in the best colors and prints! We have this tree print but there are several that I really like! I also have 1 Thirsties Fab Fitted diaper. It’s awesome and super soft, however it doesn’t seem very cost effective. It’s essentially the same as a prefold just a little easier to use as it looks like a disposable but is super soft, but at over $15 each compared to maybe $1.50 for a prefold it’s a little hard to justify a whole stash full of them.

Leave a Reply

