Reading – Insurgent

Recently Read:

Insurgent by Veronica Roth. Although over 500 pages, I finished this one pretty quickly – it is one of the things I love about young adult fiction! This was the sequel to a previous bookclub book, Divergent. I will say that I enjoyed the first one quite a bit more than the second – isn’t that almost always the case? However, I will be excited to read the third…whenever that comes out. I felt like the end was a little anti-climactic – I know that’s kind of an understatement but I thought they would reveal something a little more ‘wow!’. But yay for another exciting dystopyian novel, well trilogy really. I saw this interesting chart/blog post about the rise of dystopian novels the other day and found it kind of interesting….I gave this book 3 out of 5 stars, but I still recommend reading the series (especially if you liked the Hunger Games).

Continued Reading:

Mila 18 by Leon Uris. Now that bookclub book has been completed for this month and I finished my library book, maybe I can devote some more quality time to this one!

Up Next: 

July’s bookclub book is A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle. I honestly know nothing about this book, but I’m kind of looking forward to reading it! Here is what Goodreads.com has to say about it:

It was a dark and stormy night; Meg Murry, her small brother Charles Wallace, and her mother had come down to the kitchen for a midnight snack when they were upset by the arrival of a most disturbing stranger. 

“Wild nights are my glory,” the unearthly stranger told them. “I just got caught in a downdraft and blown off course. Let me be on my way. Speaking of way, by the way, there is such a thing as a tesseract”.

A tesseract (in case the reader doesn’t know) is a wrinkle in time. To tell more would rob the reader of the enjoyment of Miss L’Engle’s unusual book.

Leave a Reply

