Reading – The Secret Garden

Recently Read:

The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett. This is June’s book club book and I finished it with plenty of time to spare – quite impressive since I’m not sure I’ll even get to go to book club this month 😦 I wasn’t very excited about this book when it was chosen as one of our ‘classics’, however I’ve learned that often books that I would never have chosen myself open up a whole new world for me. This book totally did that for me. I remember this movie being kind of popular when I was little (maybe just within our church or something). I remember little snippets of it but I don’t think I ever saw more than a few minutes of it someone. I’m glad because I’m not sure I would have enjoyed the book as much if I’d already seen the movie. I totally see why this is a children’s classic that holds so many great memories for people. I was worried that it would be one of those books that if you didn’t read it when you were younger maybe it wouldn’t hold its appeal for me, but I totally loved it. I even read some chapters out loud to Capri while she refused to sleep and screamed until her little throat was red! (maybe one day she’ll enjoy it more). Although I have to say it’s not an easy book to read out loud with all the broad Yorkshire going on (luckily for me Capri didn’t notice!). I loved the descriptions, the little worlds and games the kids played, and oh how I loved the mother…I kind of want to be a mom like Susan Sowerby! I give this book 5 stars – I enjoyed it very much!

Started Reading:

Insurgent by Veronica Roth. So my local library had the first one in this series but not the second so I sent in an online request asking them to get it and they did! I got an email saying I would be the first one to get it! The email came in that it had arrived and was on hold for me and I went to pick it up the very next day! It’s brand new and looks like it’s never been read before! Somehow I don’t think it will take me very long to finish 😉

Continued Reading:

Mila 18 by Leon Uris. No progress has been made on this while I finished up The Secret Garden and now Insurgent, but perhaps some progress will be made before I start on July’s bookclub book!

Up Next: 

July’s bookclub book is A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle. I honestly know nothing about this book, but I’m kind of looking forward to reading it! Here is what Goodreads.com has to say about it:

It was a dark and stormy night; Meg Murry, her small brother Charles Wallace, and her mother had come down to the kitchen for a midnight snack when they were upset by the arrival of a most disturbing stranger. 

“Wild nights are my glory,” the unearthly stranger told them. “I just got caught in a downdraft and blown off course. Let me be on my way. Speaking of way, by the way, there is such a thing as a tesseract”.

A tesseract (in case the reader doesn’t know) is a wrinkle in time. To tell more would rob the reader of the enjoyment of Miss L’Engle’s unusual book.

Leave a Reply

