Once A Month Mom Update – Cooking Completed and Evaluation

As I mentioned in my last post, I have decided to try to be a  Once A Month Mom and am starting with April’s Traditional Menu

I’m a little late in posting this, but I have finished making all of my Once A Month Mom Recipes. What are my thoughts?

1. It has saved me a great amount of time on a daily basis – very little dinner prep and very little clean-up is awesome!

2. The food is ok…pretty good…Maybe I’ll rate all the recipes in another post. I’m not gonna lie, I have a pretty high standard when it comes to weeknight meals tasting good and these are pretty good but they are definitely not as good as when I make a recipe that hasn’t been frozen…

3. I have saved money! I did a little comparison with this month’s spending compared to my monthly spending since the begining of the year. On average I spent about $100 less at the grocery store over the month and we spent $50 less on going out to eat. However, I really think our savings will be more because I still have 1/2 of the meals left in the freezer so our savings will spill over into June!

Will I do it again? Yes, I think I will. We’ll probably eat up what we have into June and then I’ll let myself cook some stuff from my cooking magazines for a week or two and then maybe I will try again in July. I’m thinking I will try one of the other menus – either the diet or the whole foods menu depending on which one sounds better to me at the time. I do think it would be awesome to cook all of this in one day, however spreading it out over a week or so worked really well for me and I will probably do it that way again…maybe.

Leave a Reply

