Reading – The Sun Also Rises

Recently Read:

 The Sun Also Rises by Ernest Hemingway. Ahh the joys of reading on a plane…on vacation…without a toddler! I took this book with me last weekend on my trip to Portland and was able to finish it rather quickly! I do like Hemingway…I like the way he writes. However, I did not like this book as much as the other two that I’ve read (For Whom The Bell Tolls and A Farewell to Arms). I felt like there really wasn’t much to the story and I honestly did not get a lot of the interaction between characters…I still give it 3 out of 5.

Recently Started:

Still: Notes on a Mid-Faith Crisis by Lauren F. Winner. I took this little gem with my on my trip as well. I was able to get about 60 pages into it after finishing The Sun Also Rises and before my plane started its turbulent descent! I know! You’re thinking ‘Ellie, why did you start another book when you have 2 sitting there waiting to be finished!’ Well, 1) Lauren Winner is definitely in my top 3 favorite authors so when her new book came out I was excited! 2) Beth lent it to me along with a suitcase to take on my trip and I know she has other people waiting in line to read it, so I wanted to get it started. I don’t think it will take too long to finish and already really thought-provoking!

Continued Reading:

Mila 18 by Leon Uris. No progress has been made. 😦

Golden: An American Odyssey by Michael L. Hughes. No progress has been made. 😦

Up Next:

Moonwalking with Einstein: The Art and Science of Remembering Everything by Joshua Foer This is May’s bookclub book. I am going to try to finish up one of the above books before starting it since I seem to be a little ahead this month…I’m excited to read it, although I guess I need to get it first before I can start it! 🙂

One thought on “Reading – The Sun Also Rises

  1. I am not enjoying the Sun Also Rises at all. I want to slap the characters most of the time and sometimes their conversations are so meaningless and repetitive that I have to stop reading. I may have to check out the books you’ve read by him to give him a chance to redeem himself.

    Thanks for the reminder on the next book club book! I just reserved it at my library!

Leave a Reply

