Reading

Recently Read:

Deluxe: How Luxury Lost Its Luster by Dana Thomas. This was March’s bookclub book. I just finished it yesterday. I was disappointed in this book. I’m not sure what I wanted it to be but it wasn’t. I don’t think I was the right audience for this book. I did find every chapter interesting, however I wasn’t super excited to pick it up and I kind of had to force myself to finish it. Despite that, I have had some interesting conversations with people I don’t know very well about some of the topics in the book so I guess it has made me a bit more knowledgeable.

Recently Started:

 The Sun Also Rises by Ernest Hemingway. Having finally finished March’s bookclub book, I immediately started April’s – I’m hosting this month and I WILL finish it before club this time! It’s been at least 10 years since I’ve read Hemingway (yes, somehow highschool was 10 years ago!) and I enjoyed reading him then. A few chapters into this book and I remember why. It’s something about his voice. I don’t know what it is but I enjoy it!

Continued Reading:

Mila 18 by Leon Uris. I’ve only read a couple of chapters from this and I kind of regret starting it since I hadn’t finished Golden and had book club books to read! Sometime I’ll get back to it!

 

 

 

Golden: An American Odyssey by Michael L. Hughes. Still haven’t made a lot of progress here since I’ve been trying to catch up on book club books – soon! I hope to finish it this month but we’ll see!


Leave a Reply

