Chocolate-Stout Brownies

This week it was my turn to bring a dessert to our small group – it’s always my favorite thing to bring! I wanted to make something kind of St. Patrick’s Day themed. So I made Bon Appetit’s Chocolate-Stout Brownies because if you make something with Guinness that makes it Irish. These were awesome! So good! I was a little worried they would be more rich than sweet so I also brought vanilla ice cream and irish cream, but they were plenty sweet (of course we still used the ice cream and irish cream!)

 

The recipe gives you the option of choosing bittersweet or semisweet chocolate. I went with the semi sweet but I think next time maybe I’ll try half and half. The only thing that was a little different with mine is that when I reduced the Guinness for the amount of time they suggested, I only ended up with 1/4 cup so I had to do that twice and my brownies had a doubly concentrated amount of Guinness in them. Some of the ones around the edges turned a little chewey on the sides, but they were still good. The inside was super soft. In fact, 3 days later and I think they still taste just as good as the first day! (yes, I’m eating one right now 😉

This recipe has some steps, but it wasn’t overly difficult. I imagine it’s not too much more than most made from scratch brownie recipes, other than reducing the Guinness and making the glaze. I give this recipe 5 out of 5 stars – I think it will become one of my go to desserts!

Leave a Reply

