Birthday Food

Oddly enough, I didn’t take any pictures of the food! Here is our menu with any recipe links:

Appetizer:
Cheese and Crackers

Main Course:
*Chicken Salad Sandwiches on Croissants
**Baked Potato Soup
Spinach Salad with Strawberries, Goat Cheese, Glazed Pecans, withBrianna’s Blush Wine Viaigrette

Dessert:
Strawberry Cake with Whipped Cream and Fresh Strawberries (I won’t lie, this was from a box)

*This is a Pioneer Woman recipe. I thought it turned out really well, however I should have put more salt and pepper in it.

**I chose this recipe because it was for the slow cooker and it wasn’t cream based. Everyone seemed to really like it. I don’t feel like I can personally give an accurate review – you see, I’m pregnant and when I got home from church and the smell of the soup had filled my house (a smell that I normally would have thought heavenly) I couldn’t stand it! And therefore, I wasn’t really able to enjoy the soup. I even had to have my mom taste and season it because I couldn’t even do that! Everyone else loved it and it is a somewhat healthier alternative to other baked potato soups.

And that was our food. I was really trying to make it simple and something that could mostly be made ahead  of time so that we wouldn’t spend our time cooking. Of course, as simple as it was, it still required quite a bit of work (I felt like). Overall, quite successful!

Leave a Reply

