It’s Monday! What are you reading?

“What are you reading on Mondays” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila that lets you share books you’ve read over the past week and books you have coming up. I found it up on Alita’s blog and occasionally like to play along…

Finished: Sacred Parenting by Gary Thomas – That’s right! I made some headway this last week! I finished the last chapter in Sacred Parenting and even shed a tear or two. I think I would like to read this book when I have been a parent for a couple of years – I think it’s a little hard to connect with in the anticipation of being a parent and not having really experienced a lot of it. However, it was a good book for Jeremy and I to read and we had some good conversations about it. It also only increased my admiration for my parents and the way the raised my brother and me.

Natural Childbirth the Bradley Way by Susan McCutcheon-Rosegg – I only had 2 little chapters left in this book and I finished t hose up pretty quickly. I have mixed feelings about this book. It’s pretty informative, but certainly is for those who want to do a natural childbirth. It feels a little out of date as far as data sources and then of course, pictures – the pictures are NOT good. However, I feel like it really helped me to picture labor and delivery and think through what I need to be prepared for. I also thought the exercises for pregnancy were also helpful. The one thing I really do love is that it is for the mother and the coach and often speaks directly to the coach giving them very specific instructions.

Continued Reading: Just Walk Across the Room by Bill Hybels – I have added this to my morning Bible readings and am just reading a little bit at a time right now to whittle away at it.

The Happiest Baby on the Block by Harvey Karp – Been making some headway in this book this last week!

Packing for Mars by Mary Roach – I have set up a little reading plan for this book like I did for Little Women. So I have a certain amount of chapters I have to read every week in order to finish by bookclub the last Friday in February (which depending on when Capri arrives I may not make it to, but I’d like to be prepared nonetheless because if she is early then I might still be able to make it!). So far, I am a little ahead in my plan for this week – the Kindle app makes it so easy to pick it up when I’m out and about and waiting around for something, plus it’s definitely one of those books that you can start and stop as you go along and doesn’t require you to finish the chapter right away.

The Girl Who Played with Fire by Stieg Larsson – Won’t be picking this up again until I finish one of the previous books

Up Next: Not that I should even be thinking about this, but I finally got The Interior by Lisa See in the mail which is the second book in the Red Princess series so I’m excited to read that!

What are you reading?

Leave a Reply

