It’s Monday! What are you reading?

“What are you reading on Mondays” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila that lets you share books you’ve read over the past week and books you have coming up. I found it up on Alita’s blog and occasionally like to play along…

Ok, so it’s been awhile since I posted a reading post but I’ll have you know that it’s not because of a lack of reading! It’s because of a lack of finishing but finally this last week I finished a book and thought I’d give you an update on where I’m at ‘reading wise’.

Finished: Little Women by Louisa May Alcott. This was our bookclub book for December and January (we always just read one book for those two months since everyone is busy with the holidays – and this was a rather lengthy book). I had made myself a schedule of how many chapters I had to read every week in order to finish before bookclub (this Friday) only to be reading it this week and thinking, wow – what are they going to talk about for the next ten chapters! I feel like this should be the end of the book. Turns out, there were only 47 chapters, not 57 so it was the end of the book! I do own a hard copy of this book but I got it for free on my Kindle App (most classics are free!) so I couldn’t tell that I was really at the end! It was a nice surprise to finish a week early!

Continued Reading: Let’s take a look at all the books posted on my sidebar…

Sacred Parenting by Gary Thomas – I literally only have one more chapter to read in this in order to be finished and I would like to get that taken care of this week so I can say that I finished it!

Natural Childbirth the Bradley Way by Susan McCutcheon-Rosegg – Only 2 short chapters left in this one and I do plan on finishing it this week!

Just Walk Across the Room by Bill Hybels – I think I have over half of this left but I do really want to finish it because I’ve been enjoying it so far…

The Happiest Baby on the Block by Harvey Karp – I think I’ve only read the first chapter so far, but will probably try to dig into it further once the Bradley book is finished.

The Girl Who Played with Fire by Stieg Larsson – I started this one and had to put it down in order to finish Little Women…it will probably stay that way until I finish February’s book too…:(

Packing for Mars by Mary Roach – This is February’s bookclub book and I purchased it on my Kindle App just as I finished Little Women – a mixture of trying to get a jump on it and anticipation of reading another one of her books – I thought Stiff was both fascinating and hilarious. I’ve already finished the first chapter and am enjoying it (and have read several items to Jeremy from it already!)

Up Next:  Clearly I need to finish the large list from above…so no ‘up next’ for a while! It looks like I have some reading to finish up!

What are you reading?

Leave a Reply

