Rum Raisin Apple Pie

My mom asked me to bake a pie for Christmas. I pulled out my massive Gourmet Today cookbook that I haven’t used nearly enough (but am now determined to use more often). I found this recipe for Rum Raisin Apple Pie (which was in Gourmet Magazine in 2006 – how I miss that magazine…sigh). Anyway, I haven’t made a lot of pies but other than peeling the apples, this was relative simply. Now, I didn’t make my own pie crust because I had a coupon and just went with the Pillsbury refrigerated crust. I also didn’t use raisins, I used craisins and I thought they were excellent. I did use the three different kinds of apples – Gala, Granny Smith, and McIntosh. Anyway, I thought this pie was a really yummy twist on the traditional apple pie!

Leave a Reply

