Gourmet Today – Winter Menu #1

As I mentioned in my previous post, I decided I need to use my Gourmet Today cookbook more. However, the cookbook is a bit overwhelming – so many recipes! But in the back of the book there are menus categorized by seasons, holidays, and special occasions! So tonight I made Winter Menu #1… Wiener Schnitzel, Steamed small boiling potatoes and Cucumber, Mustard, and Dill Salad.

I couldn’t find the Wiener Schnitzel recipe online. I cut the recipe in half, used a little less butter and I didn’t use veal (I don’t eat veal). I used a really thin cut of top round beef – the same stuff that you use for milanesa (which Wiener Schnitzel is a lot like Mexican milanesa). This recipe also had a lemon, butter, caper sauce that went over the meat and that was super good! For the potatoes I just steamed them and tossed them with a little olive oil and salt and pepper. Not a super exciting side, but it worked since the other two items were so flavorful. Finally the salad – I really liked this salad. Jeremy doesn’t eat cucumbers but he tried the dressing and said it was very flavorful. Overall the menu was a huge success! Yumm! I can’t wait to try the next menu!

2 thoughts on “Gourmet Today – Winter Menu #1

  1. Pingback: Gourmet Today – Winter Menu #2 « elliek

  2. Pingback: Gourmet Today – Winter Menu #3 « elliek

Leave a Reply

