Caramel Corn

So I made the cinnamon rolls for my co-workers but I also wanted to make a little something for Jeremy’s co-workers. One of the other admin’s at my work made us this caramel corn a couple weeks ago and it was so yummy so I decided to make it for Jeremy’s co-workers and put it in cute little Christmas bags. I made this the same night I made the cinnamon roll dough so my kitchen was a disaster that night too! I went ahead and purchased an air popper from WalMart earlier that day so that I could pop the popcorn (and make more popcorn in the future!). Anyway, I think this is a really good caramel corn recipe and I hope to make it again soon (because I didn’t have any extra to keep for myself!).

Caramel Corn
from Linda Frisa
Makes 30 cups

30 cups popcorn = 1 cup air popped corn
1 cup butter (2 sticks)
2 cups packed brown sugar
½ cup light Karo syrup
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 teaspoon vinegar

Preheat oven to 250 degrees.  Bring butter, brown sugar, syrup, baking soda and vanilla to a boil stirring constantly.  Once it boils stop stirring for 5 min.  Add vinegar.  Mixture will spatter, be careful.

Spray large mixing bowl with Pam before adding popcorn.  Pour caramel over popcorn and stir until evenly covered.  Spray large roasting pan (easier) or 2-9×13 pans with Pam.  Bake for 45 minutes stirring every 15 min.

Spread corn on wax paper or foil to cool, breaking up with spoon.

Leave a Reply

