Steak Fajitas With Sweet Potato and Poblano

Last night I attempted to make these Steak Fajitas With Sweet Potato and Poblano from Real Simple Magazine. I say attempted because the steak part didn’t really happen like it should have. I think it would have been a very fast and simple way to cook the steak but my steak was going out the door…It’s just my personal opinion but when the sell by date is the 10th and you open the meat to cook on the 11th, I don’t think it should have gone bad already…So ‘sell by’ actually means eat by? Not cool.

The vegetable side of this dish was really good and I actually thought it was really good on it’s own. The chipotle sour cream was awesome and added quite the kick and mixed really well with the potatoes, poblanos, and onions.

This recipe reminded me a lot of these Chorizo, Poblano, and Yam Fajitas with Lime-Marinated Red Onions, which Beth made for me once and I think I made them on my own once too. I think I like this recipe with the chorizo is  better and not just because my meat wasn’t bad…I just really liked the flavors…I’m going to have to make it again soon!

Total failure? not quite, but certainly not a success! Still I thought the sweet potato, poblano, onion mixture with the chipotle sour cream was worth sharing.

Leave a Reply

