Pumpkin Bread Pudding and Ooey-Gooey Caramel Sauce

I saw this recipe last week on the According to Kelly blog and knew that I wanted to make it ASAP! It was just this last year that I think I had bread pudding again for the first time in a long time and loved it so when I saw a recipe for one with pumpkin in it I knew it would be amazing. I don’t have a lot of opportunities to make dessert so I decided I would just make this for our Monday morning staff meeting and hope that it was ‘brunchy’ enough – it was!

I bought the bread fresh, cut it up the night before and left it out so it would stale up a bit. I made mixed together the ‘pudding’ ingredients the night before too and put them in the fridge so when I got up in the morning I just mixed in the bread and popped it in the oven and then made the caramel sauce – which took no time at all. I didn’t use the raisins, but I do think some cranberries could be good in here. The only other change I made was that I used half & half in the caramel sauce because I forgot to buy whipping cream – so my caramel might not have been quite as thick.

The recipe suggests that you double or triple the caramel sauce, but I just left it as is because I didn’t want it to be overly sweet since we would be eating it for breakfast. I think it was the perfect sweetness, but I might double the caramel sauce if I were making it for a dessert.

You definitely want this right out of the oven when it’s all warm and wonderful. Such a great fall treat! This recipe is a keeper!!!

3 thoughts on “Pumpkin Bread Pudding and Ooey-Gooey Caramel Sauce

  1. Pingback: Grandma’s Visit « elliek

Leave a Reply

