Eggplant Marinara Flatbread

I made this Eggplant Marinara Flatbread last night from this month’s Bon Appetit Magazine. I wish I had taken a picture but we gobbled it up pretty quickly! This was so tasty! I knew I was excited about all of the ingredients but as I was putting it together I worried it would be a little boring – my first bite into it changed my mind – soooo good!

It was a relatively easy recipe to make – it was complicated for me in that I didn’t have any marinara sauce on hand. I thought I did so I didn’t get any at the store but after I had put the eggplant on the stove I discovered that I had alfredo sauce in the pantry and not marinara – this was not a situation where I felt I could substitute one for the other so I turned off the stove and jumped in my car for the grocery store. So the meal felt like it took a little more effort than it actually did. I went ahead and doubled the recipe because the recipe only requires you to use half of the ciabatta loaf and I had plenty of sauce, my eggplant was huge and there was enough cheese and basil so I went for it. I actually did one half with the goat cheese and mozzarella and the other half with just mozzarella because Jeremy thinks he doesn’t like goat cheese. But he actually tried a piece with goat cheese on it last night and he liked it better (it definitely is better with the goat cheese – creamier!).

The only change I would make is that if you are using a store-bought sauce as is called for in the recipe, don’t bother salting the eggplant. I only salted one side and it was a little salty for my taste. I think the store-bought sauce has a enough salt in it that you don’t need to add any more.

This is an easy and yummy vegetarian meal!

One thought on “Eggplant Marinara Flatbread

Leave a Reply

