Slow Cooker Char Siu Pork Roast

I made this recipe for Slow Cooker Char Siu Pork Roast last week. Somehow I accidentally picked up the bottle of Worcestershire sauce that was next to the Hoison sauce at the store and it’s was  a little late to do much about it by the time I was putting the recipe together so I just substituted the Worcestershire sauce for the Hoison sauce – so I don’t think mine turned out as Asian or as sweet as it was probably supposed to be. That said, I thought this turned out pretty good – the meat was falling apart when it was finished which is always a good sign. I didn’t feel like the meat itself had a lot of flavor, but once you poured the sauce over it, you couldn’t really tell. I think I will try this again with the actual Hoison sauce and see what happens. It was super easy – just required a little forethought to marinate the meat beforehand (which I did the night before). I made rice to go with this, but next time I will definitely plan a veggie as well – maybe some baby bok choy!

One thought on “Slow Cooker Char Siu Pork Roast

Leave a Reply

