The First Trimester

I think I will be waiting until month 4 to start taking some belly pictures, but rest assured, that they will come with time. Oh, the first trimester…blah. That’s what I have to say. And I say that, but I’m pretty sure I was a total wuss -I know many people have it so much worse than I did. So I found out I was pregnant when I was just under 4 weeks (which really is just under 2 weeks but the system is weird). I was feeling pretty good but increasingly exhausted. I can only describe it as an overwhelming inexplicable exhaustion – I was so tired all the time! I really thought maybe I would make it without feeling too bad…then week 6 hit. Curses on week 6 and all the nausea that it brought with it! On the positive side I was only sick for about 5 1/2 weeks because it really started to let up during week 11, but there were several days when I stayed home from work or came home from work and just laid on the couch and cried uncontrollably because I felt so helpless and sick and tired! Other than the exhaustion and the nausea, I only vomited once, which I think is pretty good. I did gag a lot and this sounds weird but it was really like dry heaving and it looks and sounds ridiculous – in fact, Jeremy often had trouble containing his laughter. Sadly, this last remnant has not quite gone away yet, though I have noticed it lessening this last week.

Some things I tried to help feel better (I don’t really know if they helped…)

  • Mommy’s Bliss Morning Sickness Magic pills – I ordered these online and took them the last couple weeks I was sick. They have herbs like ginger in them to help soothe your stomach
  • Ginger tea – I think this helped
  • eating some dry cereal before getting out of bed in the morning – I think this helped too. I also rearranged my morning scheduled and ate first thing instead of showering first and that helped too.
  • My dear friends Krista and Lindsey brought me some Preggie Pops and they really did help if I was starting to gag at work but knew I had a full stomach
  • Mostly I just had to keep food in my stomach. That was the biggest issue – always keep food in my stomach. By the end I was so tired of eating and nothing really sounded good to me! I ate a lot of peanut butter and jelly sandwiches! But even with the food in my stomach I still didn’t feel very well, I just would stop dry heaving for a little while.

So that’s kind of a summary of the first 3 months for me – I’m sorry if it sounds like complaining. This whole time I really have been thrilled that we are having a baby and continually fascinated that there is a little human growing inside of me. I think in the midst of all of it, it feels like it is going to go on forever, but now I pretty much feel back to my old self! I also was totally spoiled during this time. My work was really flexible and I think I took at least one sick day every week that I was sick and I got to go home during my lunchtimes and take naps. Jeremy was incredible. He took such good care of me! He took care of keeping our house clean and all the little chores while I was just lying on the couch. On the nights I didn’t feel like I had the energy to cook, he would pick food up for us on the way home. He was great!

So, that’s my little summary – so glad that part of the pregnancy is over and am already starting to enjoy the second trimester very much!

3 thoughts on “The First Trimester

  1. It totally doesn’t sound complaintive… it’s a hard place to be in that first trimester, especially when no one knows why or how crappy/tired you feel! I SOOOO feel you on the dry heaving. Every morning before work I would (about the same time) stand at the kitchen sink and dry heave for a few minutes. I HATED it and I would get all sweaty and gross but in my head I would just keep saying “it’ll pass in a few minutes, it will pass in a few minutes”. Second trimester is the bomb!

  2. I’m so excited for ya’ll and I’m glad you are feeling better! May the joy of what’s to come carry you through the hard days 🙂

Leave a Reply

