It’s Monday! What are you reading?

“What are you reading on Mondays” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila that lets you share books you’ve read over the past week and books you have coming up. I found it up on Alita’s blog and occasionally like to play along…

Finished: Jane Eyre This was a re-read for bookclub. I’m not sure I enjoyed it as much the second time around, but still a great book!

Started Reading: Stephanie Meyer’s The Host – July’s bookclub book. Ok, I’m just going to confess something here – sometimes I’m a book snob and it has never been more clear to me than when this book was chosen for bookclub. I was totally against it – yes, just because Meyer wrote the Twilight books, which, no, I have not read. Then I read the summary for The Host and thought that it was definitely not for me. But, Jenn, promised it was  a good book and I don’t know if Jenn has ever steered me wrong in a book suggestion before and the whole point of bookclub is to read books I wouldn’t normally pick out on my own, so I decided to go ahead, bite the bullet and read it. I don’t think I’ve ever wanted to dislike a book more (lots of books I really want to like then don’t, but rarely do I not want to like a book), well, Jenn was right – I’m halfway through it and totally enjoying it – aliens or not, it’s been a pretty good read so far. I’m humbled and will try not to be too snobish from now on.

Up next: Not sure yet…we’ll see how quickly I finish The Host!

What are you reading?

4 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading?

  1. I’m so ready to start reading the Host! I’m secretly a closet sci-fi junkie. . . except I never have any time to read that genre so I’m a little geekily excited about this one. I just have to finish the last 1/3 of Jane Eyre!

  2. I finished it in 3 days so if anyone else needs to borrow it, mine is available. And I am soooo glad you are liking it Ellie — definitely was a great read even though it is from the same author as Twilight, which I have no desire to read either. 🙂

Leave a Reply

