Out Stealing Horses by Per Petterson

Sunday night I finished the last two chapters of Per Petterson’s Out Stealing Horses. This book was very beautifully written with lots of descriptions and I really felt like I was there. The author has a very calm way of recounting memories and feelings that made me feel like I was watching everything unfold. The book goes back and forth between the story of a present-day man in his late 60’s and his memories of the time when he was about 15. The alternating storylines did not feel choppy but I did feel like the stories never really merged. The book just ended and I felt like maybe it was missing a chapter or two. Lots of questions and confusion as far as why the book just ended was what I was left with.

One thought on “Out Stealing Horses by Per Petterson

Leave a Reply

