Trail of Crumbs by Kim Sunee

Sunday night I finished up May’s bookclub book, Trail of Crumbs: Hunger, Love, and the Search for Home by Kim Sunee. I had gotten this book early on in my paperbackswap venture and I think I may have been the one to suggest this as a bookclub pic, so I really wanted to like it…but I didn’t really. It’s a memoir so pretty much Sunee is just reminiscing about her 20’s and her search to figure herself out and for a true home. I just was unable to connect with Sunee’s feelings and struggles. I think part of her deep struggle stemmed from being adopted and I think maybe this is something that only someone else who has been adopted would understand. I did enjoy all the talk about food and even liked reading the recipes that were at the ends of most of the chapters. She even seemed to make an effort to make the recipes more accessible for those of us who do not get to live in France! Speaking of France, there was a lot of French in the book. Even though she almost always translated whatever was said in the next sentence, I always felt like maybe I was missing a little something. Overall I didn’t really like it and gave it 2 out of 5 stars in my facebook review. However, I did pass it on to my mother-in-law because she is interested in French, will appreciate the food, and was adopted so she might connect a little more with Sunee’s search for identity…I wish I could be at bookclub this month to hear what other people thought about this book, but happiliy I will be in San Fransisco with my love celebrating our 4 year anniversary!

One thought on “Trail of Crumbs by Kim Sunee

  1. I didn’t even think if the French making it harder for other people to read! I have been reading right through it and can understand most of the French (yay for high school French coming back to me!). My brother is adopted too so that could be why I’m enjoying it more than you did. I like it a lot! I still have about a third of the book to read before Friday…

Leave a Reply

