April’s Make-A-Month Project

Having just finished the first week of  May, I thought I better get with posting my April Make-A-Month Project, which I must say, just one project enough sounded easier than it has actually been! I just want to preface by saying that I made this entire dress during the month of April, except for the belt, which I finished on Saturday, but I think it still counts as an April project!

I had been wanting to begin making some of my own clothes but had been a bit put off by “the bathrobe incident”. However, recently I have been inspired by the Me-Made-May project and wished that I was better at sewing clothes! So for April I decided to sew my first dress! I chose a pattern that I thought would be easy, and it was. My plan in choosing this pattern was that it wasn’t really fitted anywhere so I wouldn’t have to worry too much about the sizing. This turned out to be a good plan for this first try I think.

Although the dress looks rather good on the model on the front of the pattern, it does tend to look a bit like a tent on a real live person unless you are standing just right. So I went ahead and made a belt to help pull it in a little bit. You’ll notice in the picture that my hands are in my pockets! That’s right, there are pockets – I’ve very into dresses that have pockets right now (I think I may have mentioned that in the previous post). I was excited to make the pockets out of the contrasting polka dot fabric – it just makes me happy!

One more picture just because I’m so excited that I finished this dress! Is it my favorite dress in the world? Definitely not, but I made it! Yay! I hope this opens the door for more clothes for me to make and wear in the future and maybe someday I’ll be able to participate in a Me-Made-Month project!

Oh, I bought this fabric at Hobby Lobby. I think it’s pretty cute and I love that they have prints that coordinate!

No Make-A-Month for January 😦

February’s Make-A-Month

March’s Make-A-Month

3 thoughts on “April’s Make-A-Month Project

  1. Whoa. I didn’t know u made that dress. its so cute espc. when you tote. rocked it at church. LOL. have fun on ur vacation BTW. i’m going to a new school and the principle thought i was to young 2 do 8th grade next year and now i have to repeat, but i’v made really good grades this years so i’m super shot down now
    (= mayB God is doing something here? u told me that, remember?

Leave a Reply

