Jeremy’s 30th Birthday Food

That’s right, my man turned 30 this last week. We’re slowly coming to accept it – a little easier for me since I don’t have to face for another few years…but we celebrated anyway! I made a bunch of food for the party and didn’t take a single picture! Oh well, it all tasted great! Here are the recipes I used:

Spicy Black Bean Empenadas These were a pretty big hit and I thought they were really tasty! They were a little time consuming though…I made them and froze them and then pulled them out the day of and baked them – they had to bake a little longer than the recipe said for them to get golden, but yum!

Nacho Cheese Bites These were simpler than the empanadas and I they tasted way better than I anticipated – just cheese and salsa inside puff pastry!

Sweet and Sour Meat Balls Such an easy app to take to a party and I really liked the sauce!

L’l Wrapped Smokies So this was by far the easiest thing I made and Jeremy told me it was his favorite – isn’t that always the way!

Bacon-Wrapped Stuffed Jalepenos I got this recipe from our Taste of Home Backyard Grilling cookbook, but luckily they have it on their website too! I did this one a little differently than the recipe said. I cooked the chorizo and cheese in a skillet and then stuffed the jalapenos, wrapped them in bacon, and then I put them in the oven at 450 until the bacon was crispy (I don’t remember how long it took). I didn’t think Jeremy would get home in time to fire up the grill and I was nervous about the chorizo being fully cooked. I also bought a box of latex gloves to wear while I was seeding these puppies – and I am so glad I did! Definitely worth it! I got a lot of compliments on these. I had one and I thought it was quite tasty and not too spicy.

Blackberry Pastry Cups I make these for almost everything and people love them! I had several people tell me they were their favorite! So easy and so delicious!

Irish Car Bomb Cupcakes I finally got a chance to make these and it was pretty fun – although quite a process. I used an apple corer to get the centers out and I think I might have to start making cupcakes with a little surprise in the center all the time! These are pretty rich and I was glad I had mine with a cup of coffee. There were a couple of people who didn’t like them, but I really did!

2 thoughts on “Jeremy’s 30th Birthday Food

Leave a Reply

