Slow Cooker Sweet and Spicy Asian Pork Shoulder

I’ve been trying to make soup or a slow cooker recipe on Saturdays when I’m home so we have something to eat over the weekend. Last week I made this  Slow Cooker Sweet and Spicy Asian Pork Shoulder from Real Simple magazine and it was fabulous! This was so easy – just throw it all in the slow cooker and let it cook then make some rice, add the bok choy for a couple minutes and then eat! The meat was just falling apart! The only change I might make is to use a little less brown sugar since I thought it was a  little too sweet. I got baby bock choy from Sprouts – I love that place, I’ve never seen baby bok choy at HEB. Oh, and I got the pork shoulder there – boneless pork shoulder steaks for 99 cents a lb! it made this recipe so inexpensive. And finally, I really appreciated that this recipe only serves 4 – I sometimes want to shy away from slow cooker recipes because they feed like 8 and how are we going to that much food! this was perfect…It’s definitely a keeper!

3 thoughts on “Slow Cooker Sweet and Spicy Asian Pork Shoulder

  1. HI Ellie,
    What a small world. I posted a slow-cooker pork shoulder and your blog post linked to mine…THe small world is that my sister has lived in RR since the late 1980’s and I spent alot of time there having gone to TCU so RR was only a few hours away. Her family lives in the area too so we’ve been back for wedding etc over the years. My how it has grown since I first went there in 1980!
    Amy

Leave a Reply

