Deja Dead by Kathy Reichs

Over the years Bones has become one of my favorite TV shows. It’s that great mix of comedy and action and the cast has, in my opinion, great chemistry together…and yes, ever since his Angel years I have thought David Borneaz was a looker (sorry Jeremy!). In light of my enjoyment of this show, I thought it might be fun to read the books that inspired the show. I requested the first in Kathy Reichs’ Temperance Brennan series, Deja Dead. I saved this for my break from school. It sat next to my nightstand giving me hope that when I finished writing what felt like a short book on Martha Washington,  I could read for pleasure once again. Finally, on the day I finished my class I picked it up and started reading it…sadly, I was disapointe. Maybe it was because of the high expectations I had from being such a fan of the show, but the book is really not much like the show, other than the fact that the main character’s name is Temperance Brennan and she is a forensic anthropologist.

This book got rave reviews when it came out. I guess it was pretty good as crime novels go and the anthropologist twist was different, but I was not overly impressed with the writing style or even the story line. I think it just wasn’t for me. I was hoping maybe this would become a series that I could get into, but I have no desire to request the next book. I think I’ll go back to watching Bones on Thursday night and leave Kathy Reichs to inspire the scripts.

3 thoughts on “Deja Dead by Kathy Reichs

  1. I recently read this book as well. I don’t think I would call it a disappointment, but I had been told to really tamper my expectations from the TV show. The characters are not even remotely similar.

    I don’t think I would say the book was bad if only because I did find that I (late 20s / early 30s male) was actually able to relate to the main character (older woman with college-aged daughter). Though I suppose that could have been Ellie’s problem with the book… I dunno. I thought it was pretty good, but I wouldn’t say it’s the best random fiction I read last year either. (That would be Daemon by Daniel Suarez.)

    • I think you’re right – my expectations due to the TV show certainly skewed my view, but either way I think the fact that I had no desire to pick up the next one made me think it just wasn’t fabulous.

      I will check out Daemon by Daniel Suarez!

Leave a Reply

