Recent Happenings

I know I haven’t blogged lately! I want to…although not too much to say. Because I didn’t have any pictures, I thought I’d post this one from Thanksgiving featuring my cousin, my mom, and myself. It was a lovely day. This last week I have been sick so there really hasn’t been too much going on. I have cooked a couple of recipes lately that I haven’t posted, so here you go –

Broccoli and Three- Cheese Lasagna from Real Simple Magazine – the only time I had made lasagna before was when I was helping Beth make some amazing lasagna a couple years ago (no joke – fresh pasta and homemade ricotta!). So this was my first attempt and I don’t even know if it qualifies because this was so ridiculously easy! I must say the no boil noodles – so easy. This was a super easy meal to throw together and even though it takes longer to cook, it didn’t take long to throw together and I thought it tasted great! Of course, a lot of the taste has to do with which marinara sauce you choose – I picked up an organic jar when I was at Sprouts and I can’t remember the brand but it was really good. The only note I had was that I used my whole 25 oz jar of sauce for this recipe even though it called for less.

Mini Morsel Meringue Cookies from Nestle Toll House – I made these last week for Jeremy’s work and even though I thought they tasted pretty good, the general consesus from his co-workers was that they were a little weird…My mom makes some cookies like this that she calls “Cookies While You Sleep” but instead of mini chocolate chips she puts a Hershey’s Kiss in the middle – I preferred the mini chocolate chips better. Anyway, I guess you have to like meringue to like these – they weren’t really a crowd pleaser (I’ve determined to make something ‘normal’ this week and will just go with Chocolate Chip Oatmeal)

Blonde Brownies from Nestle Toll House – Jeremy actually made these. I didn’t have time two weeks ago to make cookies for his work so he went ahead and made these bars. This is a super fast and easy go to recipe. It’s pretty much just a chocolate chip cookie in a bar – maybe a little more cakey and everyone loves them!

That’s all the recipes since I’ve been sick and finishing up school. Other goins on…I finished sewing one of my Christmas gifts and that was a real success! Of course, with most things I sew, I now want one for myself! Saturday is the last day for this class! Yay! I got a 96% on my final paper which is the one I’ve been working on since my last class and it was such a relief to turn it in and then get an A! Just have to finish up a few more critical reviews of other students’ papers and then I’ll be done! One whole month off and then I have my last two classes!

Since my class is almost over, I’ve started reading more for pleasure! Currently I’m reading our bookclub book, Oscar Wilde’s The Picture of Dorian Gray. So far it’s been a little hard for me to get into (I’m about 7 chapters in). However, the character Lord Henry absolutely fascinates me and his commentary especially on women and the U.S. is pretty entertaining – definitly a witty book. Since it’s been hard to sit and read Dorian Gray, I’ve been switching off between chapters with Kathy Reichs’ Deja Dead which is the first book in her Temperance Brennan series. I love the show Bones and it is loosely based off these novels. Honestly, I think I’ve been spoiled by the books we read in bookclub because the writing in this book isn’t really to that level, but it has been enjoyable book so far (although not very much like the show other than her name and the fact that she’s a forensic anthropologist).

So that’s what’s going on. Hopefully this next week will bring more baking and sewing and general festive activities. We haven’t gotten our Christmas stuff out of the attic yet and I’m still trying to kick this cold, so hopefully soon I’ll have more time to blog and topics to blog about!

2 thoughts on “Recent Happenings

  1. I always wondered about the books that Bones is based off of too…interesting that they aren’t as good of writing. That’s a bummer!

    Yay for getting A’s and for a school break for you — now just get better so you can enjoy all your Christmas festivities! 🙂

  2. Good job on the A’s Ellie! Yay! And your lasagna certainly qualifies – I make lasagna with the no boil noodles all the time. It makes things so much easier! That recipe sounds really good too.

    I need to get started on Dorian Gray – I’ve been reading other things lately . . .

Leave a Reply

