Martha Washington: An American Life by Patricia Brady

Martha WashingtonI am writing my senior thesis on Martha Washington. It wasn’t something that was actually planned, but I had to switch topics at the last minute and in trying to figure out what to do, I saw that I had this biography on my bookshelf. It became part of my inspiration for my research into the life of this incredible woman. We know very little about Martha Washington. Some of this is due to the fact that she destroyed the correspondence between herself and George before she died. She wanted to keep their private life private. There has been relatively little written about her and in my research this has been the best biography I have read. Brady did an excellent job in her research and it is an enjoyable read. It’s not very long as biographies go and gives a great glimpse at Martha’s life. She was such a great wife! She was very supportive even when it was difficult for her. She did not want her husband to become president and even more so didn’t want him to take on the 2nd term, but she always rose to the challenge just to be at his side. I’m sure there’s more I could write, but I’ll contain myself. if you are looking for a biography on Martha Washington, this is definitely the one I would recommend.

Leave a Reply

