Smoky Turkey Shepherd’s Pie

shepherds pieI may have mentioned at some point that I got Rachel Ray’s 365: No Repeats – A Year of Deliciously Different Dinners, A 30-Minute Meal Cookbook. This is actually the 2nd recipe I have made from this book – see below for more details. I made this Smoky Turkey Shepherd’s Pie last night and am actually eating some leftovers as I type. I think this took me more than 30 minutes to make…I must not be as fast as Rachel! I liked that it used turkey instead of beef and I know that Jeremy likes shepherds pie. It was pretty good. I think after looking through the recipes in this book, it might be one that I use a lot when we have kids – the recipes are simple, fast, and crowd pleasers. They may not be recipes that would make their way into Gourmet but I think kids would probably really like them.

Like I mentioned, this is the second recipe I’ve made from this book, the first one was the Scramblewiches and these were a big hit! Sounds kind of silly, but we really liked them. I used ham and I think that I didn’t bother buying Swiss cheese and just the Monterey or Colby Jack that was probably in my fridge already. One thing I did was purchase frozen loaves of Hatch Green Chile baguettes from HEB, although that might be a Central Market Brand. Since I normally shop on the weekends, if I’m going to make a recipe later in the week, it’s hard to have fresh bread for it. So like in the recipe I shared for the Bruschetta I either use Pillsbury bread dough and bake it up that day or I buy it frozen – I thought it was fun having the chile taste in the bread for this particular recipe!

Leave a Reply

