Smothered Pork Chops with Mushrooms

smothered pork chopsThese smothered pork chops with mushrooms really tasted like what I think when I think of country home cookin’. These were in this month’s issue of Gourmet and fit into my easy and inexpensive meals category. Let me tell you, lately I have been in love with crimini mushrooms (baby bellas) – they just have a distinct flavor that the regular button mushrooms have.

The recipe calls for bone-in pork shoulder chops but I was in a hurry and just grabbed what looked inexpensive which were some boneless pork loin chops – still really good. I cut the recipe in half but we still have enough for another meal! I didn’t use fresh rosemary just because buying fresh herbs can be expensive if I don’t use them for several recipes (and using the same fresh herbs for several recipes within the span of a week can get a little boring); I thought the dried rosemary worked just fine. Also, my chops were finished but the veggie mixture was still pretty watery so I put the chops in the oven to stay warm and then I simmered the onions and mushrooms and added some cornstarch mixed in cold water until it thickened into a sort of gravy – yummy! I also made mashed potatoes which were the perfect side to this cozy meal!

Leave a Reply

