The Phoebe Bag

phoebe bagWhat’s this? I sewing post? I can hardly believe it either! But there it is, last Saturday I got home from a day in Marble Falls with the fam and decided that it was time to make me a new purse! I used my fabulous Ikea fabric that I love and made this super easy bag! A lot of people have made it and who can blame them? It’s easy it looks great and it’s free! So if you haven’t made one, you should. It’s a great size too…my stuff actually fits in there without coming out the top of my purse. You may notice the lack of a flap with a magnetic snap on my bag…well, i didn’t have one on hand so I just didn’t put one on. What’s kind of cool about that approach is that the bag could actually be reversible – there would just be a pocket on the exterior if I turned it inside which wouldn’t be so bad! 102_0298There were a couple of things I did differently than the instructions said, but nothing ridiculous. I’ve made a couple of purses so when the instructions suggested doing a couple of things different ways, I decided to just do it the way that I knew how. The directions were really straight forward and I found them easy to follow – fun and rewarding pattern to sew. As you can see in the second picture I decided to use one of the fun stitches on my machine to topstitch around the top of the bag when I was finishing it out…it makes me happy.

3 thoughts on “The Phoebe Bag

  1. I love that you used a different stitch for the top stitching!! Makes it look super duper cute! And I love that fabric too — which is why I went and bought some after the last Sewcial! 🙂

  2. I love that fabric too – so cute! And the green lining is perfect. I love the embellished top stitch! I forget about those sometimes. I should use them more often!

Leave a Reply

