Chicken with Sweet Potatoes and Onions

102_0296I really liked this meal – super easy! Chop up two sweet potatoes and one onion, mix it with a little olive oil and thyme and throw the chicken in and there you have it. The most time consuming part for me was piecing the chicken and that didn’t even take very long! I think you  could make this even easier by just purchasing a pacakge of thighs and putting them in there if you are opposed to taking apart a chicken. 102_0295As you can see from the picture, the chicken is looking a little pasty. I think next time I will brown it first before putting it in the pan. The chicken was finished for me at 40 minutes so I removed it to a plate and returned the veggies for another 5 since they were not quite as soft as I wanted. the chicken was simple and tasty…but the veggies – yum! Now I love sweet potatoes so I’m a bit biased but I could have just sat there and eaten the sweet potatoes and the onions right out of the pan filled with thyme infused chicken drippings and olive oil! Super simple meal and probably didn’t cost more than $6.50 total and it could easily feed 4-5 adults depending on how much chicken they eat. This was another recipe from the month of dinners from Real Simple magazine and you can check it out here.

One thought on “Chicken with Sweet Potatoes and Onions

  1. Yum! We used to make something similar in collegebut we would spread dijon mixed with thyme on top of the chicken and add carrots to the veggie mixture!

Leave a Reply

