Book Club Food

book club foodBook club was a week ago yesterday and I got to host! I’ve had a lot going on so I was trying to figure out what I could do that would take minimal time…but as you know whenever I try to do stuff like that I always make too many plans and it always takes longer than I thought it would! I didn’t decide what I was going to do until the day before bookclub, but I did only pick three recipes this time…although the last one had a lot of options.

BrowniesI decided to make two sweet things – one fruity and one chocolaty – and I thought it would be nice if each recipe used one sheet of puff pastry so I could just buy one box and use it up. Here are the Fudgy Brownie Cups. These were super easy to make. They were pretty rich and they looked fancier than they actually were – one of the many wonderful things about puff pastry! This recipe didn’t make as much for me as it said it would. I had enough pastry dough, but not enough batter and I measured it out, so I don’t know what happened! I think the powdered sugar made them look even better! I also made Lemon Thyme Cream Puffs. These took a little more time because you infuse the cream with the thyme and it has to chill and such. There’s a good picture of them with the recipe link. I totally forgot to drizzle the white chocolate on them! I bought it, I just forgot! I had a lot of left over filling, so I used for a d-groups treat and filled some little phyllo pastry cups and put strawberries on top.

102_0284So the desserts were fun, but I was most excited about my third recipe – Roasted Garlic Crostini with Assorted Toppings. Of course I made almost all of the assorted toppings – what’s wrong with me!? I love crostini and these were pretty tasty. As you can see in the picture I put all the toppings that went with the goat cheese in that serving plate I got for super cheap in Mexico last year. For each one of those you top the crostini with the roasted garlic paste and some goat cheese, then you add something from the other bowls – roasted red bell pepper, sun dried tomatoes & capers, tapenade (I bought it at HEB, not time to make that), or tomatoes, basil, and crushed red pepper in balsamic vinegar. I thought these were all really fun. I also pre-made two different ones – fresh mozzarella, tomato, and basil as well as prosciutto and Parmesan. I thought they were all very fun, but in the future I would probably only do the ones with the goat cheese – they were my favorite!

2 thoughts on “Book Club Food

Leave a Reply

