Panko-Crusted Chicken with Mustard-Maple Pan Sauce

I know I said I would post the bookclub recipes but I forget to pull the pics off the camera last night! No pictures for this, but I thought I’d let you know that last night I made Bon Appetit’s Panko-Crusted Chicken with Mustartd-Maple Pan Sauce…sort of. I actually decided to make this without purchasing anything at the store which led to quite a bit of substitution (even more than I had planned on). However, it turned out really good – I especially liked the sauce!

For fun, I thought I’d give you a glimpse at the substitution craze going on in my kitchen…so here’s the list of ingredients and in parenthesis and italics you see what I actually made do with:

  • 2 8-ounce skinless boneless chicken breast halves, cut crosswise in half  (Didn’t have breast haves so just used regular chicken breasts…)
  • 1 large egg (Yay! I had that!)
  • 1 tablespoon finely chopped fresh Italian parsley (I actually tried to get this at the store but they were out, so I used dried parsley flakes)
  • 2 teaspoons plus 2 tablespoons Dijon mustard (I thought I had this, but turns out I didn’t so I used a mixture of regular mustard and Chinese Hot mustard)
  • 1 cup panko (Japanese breadcrumbs) (I used regular plain breadcrumbs)
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil (check!)
  • 1 cup low-salt chicken broth  (check!)
  • 3 tablespoons pure maple syrup (I used Mrs. Buttersworth!)
  • 2 tablespoons plus 1 teaspoon coarse-grained mustard (I had extra fine grained mustard and mustard seed so I used a mixture of the two)
  • 1 tablespoon chilled unsalted butter (check!)

-note – mine didn’t look quite like the one on the Bon Appetit site…it looked more like a chicken fried steak, but hey- that’s life!

3 thoughts on “Panko-Crusted Chicken with Mustard-Maple Pan Sauce

  1. Using Hot Chinese Mustard was a nice touch! And I bet it turned out great – I love Panko! Especially when it covers strips of pork…its called Tonkatsu (in Hawaii, anyway). I only know of 2 places here in Austin that offer it on their menu.

  2. I’m really impressed with Allison’s ability to randomly substitute various on hand items for things written in the recipe and still end up with something better than you can get in a frozen dinner. It sounds like you’ve got that same talent.

    It is worth noting that panko bread crumbs are actually easier to find than I thought they would be, and they are way better than ‘regular’ bread crumbs. If you liked this recipe as you made it, then it might be worth trying it again in a few months with panko.

  3. I made this recipe last week! We loved it so much that i’m making it again this week! I wanted to lick the sauce off of the plate. 🙂

Leave a Reply

