The Hour I First Believed by Wally Lamb

the hour I first believedAugust’s bookclub book was Wally Lamb’s The Hour I First Believed. This book was by far the longest book we’ve attempted to read in the club – 740 pages! I think that may be why only 3 of us managed to finish it by the end of the month (I finished the morning of the club!). This was a very sad book and it just keeps getting more sad the further into it you get. However, I appreciated the rawness that the sadness depicts. The book tells the story of a man and his wife. Their lives are deeply affected by the Columbine shootings. The beginning of the book leads up to them and the second half of the book is their aftermath. It tells the sad story of the victims who physically survived the shootings but struggled emotionally for years to come. There are several points in the book when I truly felt that nothing worse could happen to the main character…and then it would. I thought this was very well written and I would like like to read some of Lamb’s other books. Probably one of my favorite parts of this book came in the second half of the book when family history starts to unfold and one of the characters weaves this story into a Women’s Studies dissertation proposal. Even though I thought this was a good book, it wasn’t one that I kept to pass on to others to read (a sure sign that I really like a book!), and promptly mailed it off to paperbackswap. I look forward to reading some Lamb’s other books…someday!

One thought on “The Hour I First Believed by Wally Lamb

  1. I read the first few pages of this book at a book store last week and decided then and there that I had to read it at some point. Like you, I don’t think this is one I want to buy and keep around but will most likely borrow it from the library.

Leave a Reply

