Spicy Pork Sliders

Again no picture 😦 I made these puppies last week and they were very yummy. I found this recipe in August issue of Shape Magazine. This was a very easy recipe and quite tasty. I only found pork tenderloins in 2 lbs at the store so I went ahead and cooked two lbs of pork and frozen half of it. The pork turned out great, but I had to cook mine an extra ten minutes to hit the right temperature. Another note is that I made the mustard sauce and it made about twice as much as I needed. I went ahead and made these on the King’s Hawaiain Rolls but I think it would have been better to make them on some other more healthy rolls – maybe sometime I’ll make them and make my own rolls! Oh, and don’t skimp on the red bell peppers – I think they were a great addition! And if you could make this recipe with the extras!

I couldn’t find the recipe on their website, so here it is!

Spicy Pork Sliders
Shape Magazine, August 2009

Lean, quick-cooking pork tenderloin replaces the fatty cuts typically used for these Cuban-style sandwiches.

Serves 6
Prep time: 20 minutes
Total time: 50 minutes

1 lb pork tenderloin
2 t canola oil (I used olive oil)
1 t cumin
1 t dried oregano
1 t chili powder
1/4 t salt
Freshly fround black pepper (I used a teaspoon)
1/3 cup yellow mustard
2 T sweet relish
1 T shallot
12 2-inch slider or King’s Hawaiian rolls
3 slices reduced-fat Swiss cheese, each cut into 4 triangles
3/4 c jarred roasted red bell peppers, patted dry and thinly sliced
5 lg romaine leaves, ribs removed, cut into 2 -inch strips

Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Place pork on a baking sheet and rub with oil, spices, salt, and pepper. Roast until internal temperature reaches 155 degrees on a meat thermometer, about 20 minutes; cool. Stir together mustad, relish, and shallot. (You can refrigerate the pork and auce for up to 2 days).

When ready to assemble sandwiches, thinly slice pork. Spread each roll with 2 teaspoons mustard mixture. Add pork, cheese, peppers, and lettuce. (Heat briefly to melt cheese, if desired.) Serve or cover and chill for up to 2 hours; bring to room temperature before serving.

*I put the sandwiches together without the lettuce and then put them in the oven at 325 for 15 minutes to melt the cheese then I put the lettuce in before I served them (I let them cool for a few minutes first).

One thought on “Spicy Pork Sliders

Leave a Reply

