In Defense of Food by Michael Pollan

In Defense of Food - SmallI have been reading this book for forever! I finally finished it! This was our bookclub book for April. I was so busy with school at the time that I hadn’t even purchased the book before the end of April came around! I did get to host that club and was so nervous as to what to serve since I had no idea what the book had said about food – what if I served something that the book totally prohibited! Just in case you were wondering, I think I did ok with the food and the discussion that night was really good. Well, I did order the book after we met that night and have taken my time reading it through the last class. What’s nice about this book is that you can read a section and then set it down and start again without having lost too much momentum. I thought this was an excellent book and I’m excited to one day read his earlier book, The Omnivore’s Dilema. Jeremy has been reading this book too and he is almost done and we are slowly trying to make some changes in our lifestyle to fit more with the mantra of the book – Eat food, not too much, mostly plants. We are trying to eat less meat, eat less processed foods and more plants – especially those from a farmer’s market. Slowly but surely…it takes time (and money) to change the way you eat, but hopefully it will just be another way to step out of the American rat race and focus on the more basic needs and take time to share them with other people.

2 thoughts on “In Defense of Food by Michael Pollan

  1. Yeah this book impacted me a lot. The food industry frustrates me so much now that I’ve learned how much big business corrupts it…

  2. Yeah this book impacted me a lot. The food industry frustrates me so much now that I’ve learned how much big business corrupts it…
    Sorry… forgot to say great post – can’t wait to read your next one!

Leave a Reply

