Chicken Noodle Soup

Once again…no picture because I’m out of batteries in my camera…And soup doesn’t really photograph that well, so I guess you’re not really missing anything! On Sunday afternoon I made the chicken broth – that’s right I cut up that whole chicken and made it happen. I used a recipe in my Taste of Home Cookbook but I couldn’t find it on their website so I’ll post it below. It was pretty easy. I put it in the fridge so I could skim off the fat later. This morning I got up and turned that broth into Chicken Noodle Soup! I have never been a big fan of making soup but this morning I was really enjoying it! I loved that I had made the whole thing from scratch (well, not the noodles) and it just was just a very peaceful and homey process. Here are the recipes – I think I’ll be making my own chicken broth from now on and just freeze it until I need it.

Chicken Broth
Taste of Home Cookbook
Prep: 25 min, Cook: 1 1/2 hours
Nila Grahl, Gurnee IL

1 broiler/fryer chicken (3-4 lbs), cut up
10 cups water
1 lg carrot, sliced
1 lg onion, sliced
1 celery rib, sliced
1 garlic clove, minced
1 bay leaf
1 t dried thyme
1 t salt
1/4 t pepper (I used a whole teaspoon because we like pepper)

1) In a large soup kettle or Dutch oven, combine all the ingredients. Slowly bring to a boil over low heat. Cover and simmer for 45-60 minutes or until the meat is tender, skimming the surface as foam rises.

2) Remove chicken and set aside until cool enough to handle. Remove and discard skin and bones. Chop chicken; set aside for soup or save for another use.

3) Strain broth through a cheesecloth-lined colander, discarding vegetables and bay leaf. If using immediately, skim fat or refrigerate for 8 hours or overnight, then remove fat from surface. Broth can be covered and refrigerated for up to 3 days or frozen for 4-6 months.

Yield about 2 quarts

Chicken Noodle Soup
Place broth in a large saucepan Dutch oven. Add 2 sliced large carrots, 2 sliced celery ribs and 1 chopped onion. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat; cover and simmer for 10 minutes or until the vegetables are tender. Add 2 cups uncooked fine egg noodles and reserved chicken. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat; cover and simmer for 6 minutes. Stir in 1 cup frozen peas and 1/2 cup frozen cut beans; cook for 2-4 minutes or until beans and noodles are tender.

Leave a Reply

