Julie & Julia by Julie Powell

Julie and JuliaI’m really trying to get back into the habit of posting on a more regular basis – of course school started yesterday so who knows if I will have the energy to post on the blog in the next 8 weeks! But here’s to trying!

As soon as I saw the previews for the new Julie & Julia movie, I thought, I need to read that book before the movie comes out! So I immediately put it on my PBS (paperbackswap) wish list and actually got it pretty quickly! I read it even more quickly. It was the 2nd book I read after finishing my last class (after Anthem – which now that I think about, I don’t know if I’ve posted about that…maybe I need to do that!). I read it in three days I think. It was such a fast and fun read. Julie Powell is a good writer and I was entertained the whole time. There were quite a few times when I chuckled out loud and Jeremy would look at me and just give me that smile that says “you’re really cute…but you’re kind of weird, book nerd” I think all of you out in the blogging world would like this book as the book was originally her blog that she started before blogs really started to take off. You don’t have to love cooking to get into this book, although it certainly is fascinating – and inspiring. The only thing I can really say is that the movie looks very sweet and the book is a little edgy. I wouldn’t have wanted to take away from who Julie Powell is and change the way she she talks about her life, but if you are very offended by language, you might not enjoy this book very much, and her moral standards occasionally are something to be questioned, but I think that was one of the things that made this book real. It didn’t feel like she was really trying to hide anything. Anyway, I really enjoyed it. I loaned it to Beth who read it very quickly and even posted about it before I did!

If you’re an Austin friend and would like to read this before I re-post it on PBS, please let me know. For those books that I know are on the waiting list, I’m trying to loan those books out to my friends here before putting them back up so they get optimum use!

7 thoughts on “Julie & Julia by Julie Powell

Leave a Reply

